‘I’ for idle

These days I’ve taken to reading books on philosophy. I notice that they all say the same thing — something I’ve known all along — Idle is Ideal. (as opposed to Just do it).

Don’t do anything, empty your mind of all thoughts, take a deep breath (or a drag of your favorite smoke) and just be. You don’t need to ‘become’ (the next CEO or whatever it is you want to) for you already ‘are’ (perfect).

zen_as_a_frog

Not everyone is able to appreciate my Zen. Lesser mortals often ask me: “Have you been sitting on your arse again all day?” “When can I get that report?” ” Are we done yet?” –and so on and so forth. I’ve tried explaining, “I’m not idle, I’m ideal,” but they are usually unable to appreciate that answer, not having attained my level of enlightenment yet.

Idleness is a fine art (of living) that needs a bit of practice to master. “Whenever you get the urge to do something, wait patiently for that feeling to go away,” said the monk who didn’t need to sell a Ferrari (for he never had one to begin with).

And now you know the mantra too.

 

This post is the ninth in a series of 26 posts that I am writing throughout the month of April as part of the A to Z challenge 2016.

7 thoughts on “‘I’ for idle”

  1. “but they are usually unable to appreciate that answer, not having attained my level of enlightenment yet.”. You killed it ! Lol!!
    To be honest, I couldn’t have agreed more, in a race to become the best we can be, are we really crumpling the person we already are? Just keep calm and take each day as it comes, has been my mantra too since childhood ! Though peers and the world in general may grimace at my lack of “proactive approach” or “complete lack of drive” or for that matter “Blood curdling complacency”, I know there is someone inside me who loves to just let things be as they are. Except for writing though 😉
    It was a great read and thanks for sharing an insight to your mind, will come back for more.

    Have you read my latest – I * Ink yet? Would love your thoughts…

    @Subhmohanty from
    And Life Unfolds…

    A * Alone >> B * Butterfly >> C * Curry >> D * Dance >> E * Edge >> F * Forest >> G * Grin >> H * Homecoming >> I * Ink >>

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the mantra…love the frog. I try to take some time every Sunday just for me…no TV, no radio, no phone. Just me and my cat and blessed silence…just to sit…to think…to be. Another great post!

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin

    Like

Leave a Reply

